And now I have a son

17 Nov

Roman August Clark Laparra

November 8, 2014
8 lbs 10 oz
19 1/4″ long
9 hours of labor

Wow. I don’t even know what to say.

IMG_0549

I really struggled to get excited during my whole pregnancy about having a boy. I had no idea what to expect and I am used to girls. I am so glad I have a little boy. Oh my goodness. I can’t describe the feeling.

IMG_0793

I want to take him with me everywhere. I miss him when I’m not holding him. He is such a snuggler and he loves to eat. He’s had no trouble putting on weight! It’s really nice to have a baby that makes nursing easier!

Now he is one week old!

IMG_0613

IMG_0727

We are all obsessed with him. Solace and Belle love him and have accepted him much more readily than I could have hoped. Especially Belle. I thought she would loathe another baby in the house, but it turns out, she is sweeter with him than even Solace!

IMG_0515

IMG_0504

IMG_0780

We have liked the name Roman since we got married. It was just about the only boy name we agreed on, besides his middle names, however. We have loved them for a very long time. August is Nick’s dad’s middle name and Clark is my dad’s middle name. We wanted to honor our dads but with a twist. :)

IMG_0713

We have been having so much fun with him. Now don’t misunderstand me, 3 kids under 3 years old is hard. Oh my goodness. I really don’t know how we will survive after my mom leaves! I’m trying really hard not think about it.

IMG_0558

I still can’t believe I have a son!

One Response to “And now I have a son”

  1. auntlenniesattic November 17, 2014 at 6:29 pm #

    Becky, I had that exact same feeling with my third boy. I was so hoping for a girl, and I was glad that I had found out so I could get used to the idea. But when he came out, I was SO GLAD he was a boy! I said that so many times. And I could hardly put him down. I actually felt guilty because I felt more enamored with him than my other babies but I think that was because I was so much better equipped experience-wise and was much calmer. I didn’t mind holding him or carrying him in the wrap and he was so sweet and cuddly. I adored snuggling in bed with him when with the other two I couldn’t wait for them to get in their own bed so I could sleep better. I think there is just something a little magical about your third. All the stress of not knowing what you’re doing is gone and you just get to enjoy it all. -Alyssa R

Leave a Reply

