A letter to you on your first birthday

28 Feb

Oh Belle,

We couldn’t have known before you born just how life-giving you would be to us. How could we ever live without you now? When you were born on February 28, it became one of the most important dates we would ever know. When I saw you for the first time, my entire world was turned upside down.  I felt such a strong punch in my gut of love. I still cry tears of joy when I think of that day. You are one of the greatest blessings and gifts in my life.

IMG_6243-2411504334-O

You are such a sweetheart. You love people unconditionally. I know we always say it, but you truly make people feel good about themselves; as if they are the best ever with babies and children. Thank you for doing that.

Thank you for your darling smile and silly giggle. Thank you for being a snuggly baby. Thank you for being so loving. Watching your personality develop has been so fun. How could we ever have guessed, one year ago, who you would be today? It’s been such a great journey.

IMG_6304-2411505223-O

Belle, you are so loved. All of your family (blood related or not) is obsessed with you. I can’t even put into words how much I love you. And yet, there is one who loves you beyond all that and I can’t even fathom it. Your heavenly Father loves you and desires you. He created you and wants you to be his daughter for eternity. Your Papa and I pray this for you. We want you to know that your worth and love is found truly and ONLY in Him. Our love is but a mere glimpse of his.

IMG_6348-2411505712-O

Your big sister needed you. I can’t imagine how her life would be without you. You’ve caused her to be more loving, sensitive, caring, and sweet. She loves you, anyone can tell. You two are going to be best friends. I love, now, how close in age you are. You will always remember being with your sister and having her by your side. What a gift.

IMG_6894-2416169085-O

I’m so thankful for your life;  for this year we have had to meet you, help you grow, love you, and care for you. We are blessed by you, our little whirlwind. I love you so much, Belle Scarlett Amor. Happy birthday.

Love,

Papa and Mama

img_7367

photos by Chelsey Hawes Photography

Leave a Reply

