How I potty trained Solace in 3 DAYS!

20 Dec

I will not lie. This was the hardest thing I’ve ever done in parenting. You are on the whole time. I didn’t leave the house for 5 days. I had so much pee on me. When I first thought about having kids I never thought about potty training. They kinda went from diapers to underwear magically in my mind. When we finally got to it, I was scared. But it’s so worth it. Really. It’s been almost a week since I started on Day 1 and Solace is potty trained. AHH!!! (Oh, did I mention that Nick was gone the entire time I did this? Yeah, I was a little crazy)

My friend Kirby introduced me to the 3 Day Potty Training method. Buying that e-book will be so worth it. Read it. Again and again. Memorize it and say it out loud. Consistency is key. I would say prepare yourself for the next 3 days but you honestly can’t. You have to dive in to the grungy, nastiness of potty training and get it done.

The main part of this method is teaching your child to learn how to read her body’s signs. No diapers. No pull ups. No padded underwear. Not at night-time, not in the car, not a friend’s house. Just underwear. And you will go through a lot of underwear. I bought about 20 pairs and used them all up several times. There’s a lot of laundry. You don’t go anywhere for 3 days. I had to have help come in to take care of Belle (thanks Emily, Andrew, Annalea, Kirby, Dan!) I was asking Solace 100s of times a day to let me know when she had to go potty and if her underwear were dry. There was a lot of praise and encouragement. No scolding or discipline for accidents (she’s been peeing and pooping wherever she wanted for 2 years!)

IMG_5492

Stickers were her incentive. When she would pee or poop in the potty she got to put a sticker on the chart and then got one to wear as well. The first day sucked. It was so bad I wanted to sob and be mean to everyone that night.

IMG_5530

Day two was AMAZING. Only two accidents all day. We read a lot, watched movies, danced…

IMG_5540

I painted her little toes for the first time :)

IMG_5511 IMG_5495

Day 3 was terrible. So many accidents. I thought for sure she had regressed…until day 4 and she only had 1 accident all day. She peed 9 times in the potty and pooped 3 times! You guys! She was trained in 3 days! She tells me every time she needs to go to the bathroom! Now, she still is struggling with night-time training but we will get it down. And I’d rather change sheets than ruin all my training by putting a diaper on her!

IMG_5567

IMG_5587

There are a bunch of steps to follow when using this method. I haven’t mentioned them all. Please don’t try to do it based on this post alone! Buy the e-book. I can answer any questions and can gladly coach you (from the sidelines!). 

I didn’t do any house work except laundry and during nap time, I slept. That was my life for 4 days. But:

Look at my big girl on the potty :)

IMG_5526

One Response to “How I potty trained Solace in 3 DAYS!”

  1. robinbarnhart December 20, 2013 at 8:07 pm #

    Proud of my two girls….Love ya

Leave a Reply

