That one time I threw Nick a surprise 30th birthday party…

2 Sep

I have known Nick since he was 23 years old. Since that time, I have been teasing him constantly about his age (only since he was older than me by 5 years) and have told him more times than I can count, “Babe, you’re almost 30!” Needless to say, this birthday felt like a HUGE deal to me. And it is. So it must be.

I started thinking about his 30th birthday party a year ago. I didn’t put anything into action then but I wanted to have an idea for making it special. About two months ago I sent out an email to a bunch of people who have influenced his life in the past and present asking them to celebrate with me and to keep a certain date free on their calendars because I wanted everyone to make some noise over this day! BUT  I wanted it to be a surprise party. Like, a legit, everyone is hiding and then pops out and screams *surprise* really loudly. That was my dream. I wanted Nick to be shocked speechless. I wrote to about 200 people. Literally no one messed up and told.  NO ONE! I am still shocked about that! If you knew how hard it is to keep secrets from Nick, you would be so impressed.

I had so many people who helped me do all the last-minute prep this week with baking, cutting, shopping, decorating, babysitting, lying (!!!!), distracting, planning, etc. Lisa, Dan, Elisabeth, Randy, John, Heidi, Abby and Bryan. You guys rock. I am overwhelmed with the love I feel from our community. I loved how everything turned out and Nick was so surprised. He had no idea. He actually thought we were going on a triple date to Seattle with the Sheets’ and the Quick’s for his birthday!

I want to cry every time I watch this. Nick is so loved! Babe, I hope you realize how amazing you are. We all love you so much!

IMG_3797

I asked everyone to contribute to his tattoo fund instead of bringing gifts. I was so pumped about this.

IMG_3794

IMG_3798

We had Carne Asada tacos! Nick’s favorite. So yummy.

IMG_3803

I made the Pioneer Woman’s chocolate sheet cake. Holy crap, it was so good!

IMG_3808

Courtney, on the left, thought there would be a famous person at the party since it is Nick’s party.  :) And that’s why I love her.

IMG_3823

IMG_3824

 And this is why I love her.

IMG_3821

LISA! I could not have done this without you. Thank you!!!! And thank you for letting all of us trash your house til 1am! I love you, girl.

IMG_3796

IMG_3827

Singing Happy Birthday. Nick dubbed it the worst and loudest rendition of happy birthday he’s ever heard. success.

IMG_3830

You can’t really tell from this pic, but the smoking area was a HIT. Hookah, pipes, cigars, the works. I think there were over 20 people in this corner the whole night.

IMG_3810

I love this birthday boy. I hope you really know. Thank you for being you. It’s what makes us love you even more and why celebrating you was the easiest and most natural thing to do.

One Response to “That one time I threw Nick a surprise 30th birthday party…”

  1. Breanna September 3, 2013 at 4:30 am #

    Yay!!! So glad it got recorded. It made me cry too!

Leave a Reply

