Belle’s birth story according to our photographer

10 Apr

I had decided pretty early on in this last pregnancy to have someone photograph the birth of our baby girl. It turned out to be the best decision we could make. Our friend, Chelsey, took our family photos and several maternity pictures back in November. They turned out amazing. I decided then and there that she would be who I asked to photograph Belle’s birth. She graciously and excitedly agreed.

She just put up Belle’s birth story and pictures on her blog. I love reading it from her point of view!

“When I got inside the room, it was nothing like I expected. I pictured low lights, maybe a nurse checking vitals, but overall, I pictured a calm and quiet scene (remember, I was still expecting a lot of waiting before Belle was here). But what I saw when I got there was at least three nurses, every light in the room on, people in and out prepping the room for delivery. Yes, I said delivery. It turns out that the woman in the blue nightgown, the one who seemed like she was in the late stages of labor, was actually Becky. One thing that sticks in my mind is that as I walked in, I heard one of the nurses say to another nurse “Planning to go natural? Good thing.” Meaning, at that point, it was going down that way whether that was the plan or not. Luckily, that was the plan.”
 

883425_428433323910580_2128354153_o

Read and see the rest here. I love how the pictures turned out. I am amazed every time I see them. Thank you for documenting this momentous event, Chelsey!

Show her some love and support by liking her Facebook page too! She deserves it. (Chelsey Hawes Photography)

3 Responses to “Belle’s birth story according to our photographer”

  1. robinbarnhart April 10, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

    Wow, I cried again! Beautiful story especially from Chelsey Hawes.
    Love you Rebecca and our little Belle

  2. joyfilledbloggers April 11, 2013 at 11:24 am #

    Beautiful, Becky! You. Belle. The whole birth. Nick’s love and devotion to you. God has outdone himself once again with a beautiful story, baby and outpouring of grace.

    So happy for you that you went all natural, too!

  3. Heidi Barnhart April 15, 2013 at 2:39 pm #

    What a fantastic story. Thanks for sharing! I’m so happy for you! :-)

Leave a Reply

