A letter to you on your first birthday

1 Jan

Sweetest Solace,

You came into our lives on January 1, 2012. It was the best day of my life. Giving birth was a traumatizing experience and yet it was so beautiful. The way God ordained for you to be born to us was perfect in His way and I wouldn’t change it for anything.

I couldn’t believe you were mine. When they placed you on my chest I was in awe, I was exhausted, I was in pain, and I was so in love. I had been waiting for you for so long. Even now that I have been with you for a year, I still look at you and can’t fathom how you are mine. You are so beautiful. So passionate. So full of personality!

Baby girl, your Papa and I love you more than words can say. You have made our lives so fun. So hard. So meaningful. Thank you. Thank you for giving us sweet smiles. Thank you for waving hello to us when we come into view and making us feel like we are the coolest parents in the world. Thank you for having such a sweet spirit and energetic personality. I can’t imagine you any other way!

I want you to know, Solace, that we aren’t the only ones that love you. You have other family members, grandmas and grandpas, aunts and uncles, cousins and soon a little sister, that all are smitten with you. You have friends that love being with you so much, it’s just as bad as your family!

I pray that one day you would also know how much your Father in heaven loves you too. He created you in my womb. He formed every part of you and made you who you are today. I pray that you would love Him one day and live for Him all the rest of your life. That is your Papa’s and my greatest prayer and desire for you.

On your birthday this year, I hope that even though you are only 1-year-old, you can feel how loved you are. You a such a treasure to us. May you grow up knowing that.

Happy birthday, Solace India Mae Laparra. We love you more than words could ever say.

Love,

Papa and Mama

IMG_2313  IMG_0555

Leave a Reply

