Solace, Seattle, and the Unashamed Tour

10 Nov

So most of you know that Nick has been gone for almost 2 months working as the stage manager for the Unashamed 2012 Tour. We miss him (greatest understatement of the year). On Thursday the guys were in Seattle for the day! Naturally, Solace and I went to visit him. We were so excited!

We got there around 3pm. Seriously, Sol was SO HAPPY to see Nick. She didn’t want him to leave her sight all evening. I definitely shed some tears as I watched her love on her papa so fiercely :(

Unfortunately, Solace was pretty grumpy for the first half of the night. And she would not take a nap to save her life. I hated letting her cry (which I normally don’t mind at all) because the guys were preparing for the evening and she was very disruptive. She did eventually sleep for 30 minutes and then we went downstairs to watch everyone set up the stage and do sound check. I love seeing my man in action!

Almost literally as soon as the show started, Sol calmed down. What can I say? She loves hip hop! We were in the VIP section sitting at a table toward the back, which was fine, but it was a little far away to keep her attention. So we went and sat on stage with Nick!

She was obsessed with Nate, the drummer! It was amazing to watch her be utterly entranced. When he stopped she would get so upset and start fussing. haha. Nick and I looked at each other several times and just laughed because of how much she loved it! (If we had stayed later, it would have been so cool to get a picture of her with him and the drums.) It was a blast sitting there with Nick while he worked and yet he was able to hold Sol and have fun with us as well.

Also, it seems Solace is quite the talked about baby between these guys. A bunch of them said they felt like they really knew her because they have followed her life through Nick and I’s pictures and posts since the day she was born. Therefore, I had to get pictures of her with her hip hop uncles! (as many as I could at least; there was a show going on!)


with uncle Tedashii!


Sol and uncle KB! I seriously thought he was going to run out of the building with her. lol


we got uncle Trip Lee right before he went on stage!


I also thought uncle Thi’sl was gonna steal her.


my favorite of her with uncle Lecrae.

She lasted so long into the evening. We didn’t end up leaving until around 10pm. We mainly left because I knew she really needed to sleep even though she was still having a blast, especially watching the show. I hated leaving Nick, but fortunately he comes home for 3 days on Sunday, then he is done November 19!

It was awesome that we both got to be with Sol at her first concert and that she actually enjoyed it! I’m so thankful we got to go; spending time with Nick and his friends and watching him work and then seeing the show. Awesome day.

5 Responses to “Solace, Seattle, and the Unashamed Tour”

  1. elisabethgracelaparra November 10, 2012 at 8:10 am #

    LOVE LOVE LOVE. ha Sol is so famous. Miss you guys!

  2. Andrew Laparra (@andrewlaparra) November 10, 2012 at 9:07 am #

    I absolutely loved reading this Beck! So glad you all had a good time:)

  3. Catherine Albrecht December 17, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    Hi. You are a very enthusiastic blogger who obviously loves to write. That is wonderful. I am a teacher with the Minneapolis Public Schools. May I offer some grammatical advice? Here’s what you’ve written above: “… Nick and I’s pictures and posts…” Here is how it should have read: “… Nick’s and my pictures and posts…” Previously you’ve written, “Nick and I’s wedding was wonderful.” Likewise, this sentence should read as follows: “Nick’s and my wedding was wonderful.” Many people get confused with sentences that contain compound possessives. For future reference, just cut any sentence in half to see if each half can stand on its own. Here’s an example.
    *****************************************************************************************************ORIGINAL SENTENCE ( “Nick and I’s wedding was wonderful.”)
    Step (1). Remove “Nick and” from the sentence. What is left? “Nick wedding was wonderful.” You’d never say that, right? That sentence cannot stand alone.
    Step (2) Remove “… and I’s ,,, ” from the sentence. What is left? “I’s wedding was wonderful.” Again, this sentence does not make sense and cannot stand alone.
    ****************************************************************************************************CORRECTED SENTENCE (“Nick’s and my wedding was wonderful.”)
    Step (1) Remove “Nick’s and” from the sentence and you have “My wedding was wonderful.” Very normal sounding. This thought or sentence can stand on its own.
    Step (2) Remove “and my” and what do you have? “Nick’s wedding was wonderful.” Also, sounds logical and this sentence makes sense on its own.
    ***************************************************************************************************
    Please email me if any of this is confusing. Be comforted that a lot of us have trouble with possessive nouns and pronouns, especially if there are two in one sentence.
    All the best,
    Catherine Albrecht

  4. Catherine Albrecht December 17, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    [RESENDING DUE TO FORMATTING ERRORS.]

    Hi, Becky.

    You are a very enthusiastic blogger who obviously loves to write. That is wonderful. I am a teacher with the Minneapolis Public Schools. May I offer some grammatical advice?

    Here’s what you wrote above: “… Nick and I’s pictures and posts…” Here is how it should have read: “… Nick’s and my pictures and posts…” Previously, on this blog, I read, “Nick and I’s wedding was wonderful.” Likewise, this sentence should be as follows: “Nick’s and my wedding was wonderful.” Many people get confused with sentences that contain compound possessives. For future reference, just cut any sentence in half to see if each half can stand on its own. Here’s an example that I hope explains what I am trying to say.

    ORIGINAL SENTENCE ( “Nick and I’s wedding was wonderful.”)

    Step (1). Remove “Nick and” from the sentence. What is left? “Nick wedding was wonderful.” You’d never say that, right? That sentence cannot stand alone.

    Step (2) Remove “… and I’s ,,, ” from the sentence. What is left? “I’s wedding was wonderful.” Again, this sentence does not make sense and cannot stand alone.

    CORRECTED SENTENCE (“Nick’s and my wedding was wonderful.”)

    Step (1) Remove “Nick’s and” from the sentence and you have “My wedding was wonderful.” Very normal sounding. This thought or sentence can stand on its own.

    Step (2) Remove “and my” and what do you have? “Nick’s wedding was wonderful.” Also, sounds logical and this sentence makes sense on its own.

    Please email me if this post is in any way confusing. Be comforted that a lot of us have trouble with possessive nouns and pronouns, especially if there are two in one sentence.

    All the best,
    Catherine Albrecht

    • Becky December 22, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

      Thanks for the grammatical advice Catherine! I’ll be sure to keep an eye out for it in the future.

Leave a Reply

