Lullabies, songs, and nursery rhymes

1 Sep

Solace loves music. She smiles sweetly when we turn it on for her to listen to. But what she really  loves is someone singing to her! It’s like she’s receiving a gift over and over when we sing her songs. Her smile is about to come off her face! I thought I’d share some of the songs, lullabies, and rhymes we sing to her daily.

The first lullaby is a folk song my grandma used to sing to my dad and he used to sing it to me when I was little. It’s her new favorite.

I See the Moon

I see the moon, the moon sees me
Down through the leaves of the old oak tree
Please let the light that shines on me
Shine on the one I love

Over the mountains, over the seas
Back where my heart is longing to be
Please let the light that shines on me
Shine on the one I love

*

This song correlates greatly with Solace’s nickname, Sol, which means “sun” in Spanish. This one gets sung on repeat when there’s a fussy baby in the car :)

You are my Sunshine

You are my sunshine, my only sunshine
You make me happy when skies are grey
You’ll never know, dear, how much I love you
Please don’t take my sunshine away!

*

This nursery rhyme is an old-time favorite and Solace kicks away when I start it up with her

Patty Cake

Patty cake, patty cake, Baker’s man
Bake me a cake as fast as you can!

Roll it and pat it and mark it with a B
Then put it in the oven for baby and me!

*

I recently introduced this sweet song to Sol’s repertoire. It’s personally one of my favorites.

Bella Notte

Oh this is the night, it’s a beautiful night
And we call it bella notte
Look at the skies, they have stars in their eyes
On this lovely bella notte.
Side by side with your loved one,
You’ll find enchantment here.
The night will weave its magic spell,
When the one you love is near!
Oh this is the night, and the heavens are right!
On this lovely bella notte!

*

The first song I started singing to Solace was a classic Cinderella song. When she was super tiny, it would calm her down right away. Miracle worker!

A Dream is a Wish your Heart Makes

A dream is a wish your heart makes
When you’re fast asleep.
In dreams you will lose your heartaches.
Whatever you wish for, you keep.
Have faith in your dreams and someday
Your rainbow will come smiling thru.
No matter how your heart is grieving,
If you keep on believing,
The dream that you wish will come true.

*
This song is quickly becoming a favorite for her as well!

Jesus Loves Me

Jesus loves me this I know
For the Bible tells me so
Little ones to Him belong
They are weak but He is strong
Yes, Jesus loves me!
Yes, Jesus loves me!
Yes, Jesus loves me!
The Bible tells me so

*

This last one is because I grew up singing this song. It was a part of one of my favorite tv shows (then…not now). BARNEY! haha.


I love you, you love me!
I love you, you love me
We’re a happy family
With a great big hug and a kiss from me to you
Won’t you say you love me too!

*

Are there any songs you love that you think Solace would enjoy? I’m always trying to think of new ones to share with her!

 

One Response to “Lullabies, songs, and nursery rhymes”

  1. Katie September 5, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    I’m reminded how young you are when you say that one of your favorite shows was Barney! I was way too old when he came out.

    I think you’re singing Sol all the best songs :)

Leave a Reply

