My first Mother’s Day

13 May

For a couple of years I just didn’t understand why Mother’s Day was so important for my mom. I mean, I told her I loved her so many times during the week already and now she has a day for that as well? I wanted to brush off this man-made holiday. Fortunately that was only my thinking for about 2 Mother’s days and I got my act back together.

As I celebrate my very first Mother’s Day, I realize why this day means more to my own mother than any other. I stare down at my beautiful daughter and just praise my Savior who saw fit to give her to me. To let me raise her. Love her. Enjoy her. Cry over her. My mom has 3 children. I can’t imagine the flow of love coming from her for us, especially if it’s as strong as mine for Solace.

I love being a mama. And I love how sweet Nick is already making this day for me. It fills me with joy to see him acknowledge my role as a mother; Sol’s mother. I woke up this morning nearly in tears as I heard my baby girl cooing through the monitor. I am so richly blessed. I understand Mother’s Day now.

So happy Mother’s Day, mom. I love you so much. Thank you for raising me and loving me. I hope you like your gift :)

And thank you, Sol baby, for giving the greatest gift: Motherhood. I love you to the moon and back

2 Responses to “My first Mother’s Day”

  1. Mom May 13, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    Happy Mother’s Day Rebecca. I love you and am so glad God gave you the opportunity to be a mother and I know you’ll be a good momma too!! Keep in God’s Word, pray for Solace every day as I still do for you and be a good testimony in everything you do. You’re both so beautiful and I love you both so much.

  2. therigneys May 13, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    Happy 1st Mother’s Day to one of the most beautiful, special, loving, tender, and gifted mothers I’ve ever met. Oh, how Sol is blessed so far beyond her understanding! She will get it one day :)

Leave a Reply

