O Holy Night

23 Dec

My husband’s favorite Christmas song is hands down “O Holy Night.” It’s never been an absolute favorite of mine, but this year I actually read the words. And by read, I mean I read the lyrics like I didn’t know it was a song. It was a beautiful poem, a spoken word. And it just came to life in front of me. My heart feels like bursting and tears come to my eyes at the weight and life I feel in these words.

// Oh holy night the stars were brightly shining.
It’s the night of our dear Savior’s birth.
Long lay the world in sin and error pining,
Until HE appeared and the soul felt its worth.
A thrill of hope the weary world rejoices,
For yonder breaks a NEW and GLORIOUS morn!

Fall on your knees!
Oh hear the angel’s voices!
Oh night divine, the night Jesus Christ was born.

Truly HE taught us to love one another.
His law is love and His Gospel is peace.
Chains HE shall break, for the slave is our brother,
And in HIS Name, ALL oppression shall cease!
Sweet hymns of joy in grateful chorus we raise.
With all our hearts we praise His holy name.

Christ is the Lord!
Then ever, ever praise we,
His power and glory ever more proclaim!
 \\

I hope you read it like you had never heard it before. It’s become my new favorite. The power and promise blows me away. Here is one of Nick’s favorite renditions of this song. It’s beautiful. Merry Christmas everyone.

Leave a Reply

