A getaway weekend

16 Nov

Nick and I were so blessed to be able to get away this past weekend. In our 3 years of marriage we have only gone away for more than one night 2 times– our honeymoon and this weekend! We needed some alone time away from people and social media. We went up north to Biwabik (an hour north of Duluth) to stay at the Giant’s Lodge. We did a teeny, tiny bit of sight-seeing but for the most part we lounged in our room hanging out, talking, eating junk food and watching the NCIS Veteran’s Day marathon! haha. We also played pool one evening in which I barely lost. In my defense, it’s hard being short and very pregnant while playing pool. You try bending over that table!

I was also reminded while reading Song of Solomon this weekend (what other book of the Bible do you read when you’re on a romantic getaway??) why my children won’t be singing a certain verse in the song “His Banner over me is Love.” Banqueting table = Wine fest and sex. Yeah, not talking about Jesus. Context, people! (Song of Songs 2:4)

I felt well rested after our getaway and more refreshed in my relationship with Nick. It was very over due. I love that guy. Next time we do this, it’ll be with baby in tow! :) I can’t wait!

32 weeks!

We stopped in Duluth on the way home. First time being there for both of us!

3 Responses to “A getaway weekend”

  1. Bekah November 16, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    So glad you guys were able to get away! You look beautiful (nick looks ok too). ;) Love you!

  2. Molly November 16, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    I’m so glad you finally got to see Duluth! You can’t live in MN & not see Duluth! Glad it was relaxing. You’re looking so great, Becky!

  3. joyfilledbloggers November 16, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    Yay for weekend getaways! Your hair is looking so long and lovely. And your baby girl is gorgeous. I already know and can see this. ;)

Leave a Reply

