Concerts :: Gungor, David Crowder, John Mark McMillan

23 Oct

Nick has some cool friends that will get him into shows for free sometimes. So when he told me that he had gotten into a Gungor concert for free, I literally begged him to get me in too, even though the show was already sold out. And he delivered :)

If you haven’t yet heard of Gungor, good grief, get over to iTunes now and look them up! They just released a new album called Ghosts Upon the Earth. It’s phenomenal.

Anyway, Thursday night was the concert. I thought it was going to start around 8pm or 9pm and I obviously wasn’t looking forward to a late night then having to get up at 5:45am Friday. But it started at 6pm! We got to First Avenue around 5:15pm so Nick’s friend could get us in early allowing us to steal a table before everyone else. This pregnant body can’t hold itself up the same way it used to. Our spot was just perfect. Nick got me some cranberry juice, which I stretched out to last the whole show, and I sat back, relaxed, and enjoyed the music.

John Mark McMillan played first. One of my favorites of his is “Death in His Grave.” Nick and I used to sing it sometimes at Bethlehem. It’s so awesome. He also wrote the song “How He Loves” but unfortunately didn’t sing it then. :(

After J.M.M another guy sang but we didn’t like him so we move on…

Then Gungor came out. They only sang 4 songs (acoustic) because it was David Crowder’s tour. I didn’t get any pictures of them because I videoed everything instead! Here’s a full recording of one of their more popular songs, Beautiful Things. Listen to it! If for any reason then to hear the black dude beat box towards the end. I heard this guy is on the Sing Off for beat boxing. He’s very, very good!

They are so talented. Wow.

And now David Crowder Band

In this picture, they are singing “Go Tell it on the Mountain!” haha. It was really funny when they started it. They sang some old hymns too. I’ve never been an avid fan of DCB but I thought it was cool we were able to see them live before they stopped singing together.

Remember I said the John Mark wrote “How He Loves?” Well, David Crowder Band made it popular. They started singing it and at first I felt bad for J.M.M cuz it was like, wait, that’s his song, he’s here, and YOU guys are playing it? Then all of a sudden he, Gungor, and the other guy we didn’t like came up on stage and they all sang it TOGETHER. Ahh. :) It was really cool. I got a partial video of it.

The concert ended around 9:30pm and I was home by 10:15pm!

Nick and I after the concert. I was so cold. I literally couldn’t stop shaking. We had to take the picture 4 times before my neck didn’t look someone was trying to strangle it and my chin stopped flopping around. I really need to get a maternity jacket. ASAP. It was a fun evening. Gungor announced they would be back in the spring and I announced to Nick that we’d be getting a babysitter and he needs to talk to his buddy to get us in again. This time it would be for more than 4 songs! Anyone wanna come with us?? :)

4 Responses to “Concerts :: Gungor, David Crowder, John Mark McMillan”

  1. Talitha October 23, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    Awesome night! :)

  2. Michael Boling October 23, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    I was also at this concert. Super awesome concert! Loved it!

  3. thatsnotfunnymisskatie October 23, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Yes please. Laparras +1! :)

  4. Michael WIldes (@CaptainWildes) November 2, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    Gosh, your blog posts make an interesting reading experience. Good Job!

Leave a Reply

