Thoughts on going back to work

15 Sep

So I am going back to work for 2.5 months before our baby is born. I have mixed feelings about this. It’s at Minnesota Visiting Nurse Agency. I’ve worked there a lot before so I know the gist. However, it wasn’t my favorite job. Any audio books you guys want to let me borrow, I’m all ears.

1. 100% of what I make is going straight to paying off our credit card debt. It’s gonna be awesome! Then we will only have our adoption loan to pay off and we’ll be debt free. I can’t wait until that happens.

2. I feel like my free time is being taken away. I know I’ll be more tired after working during the day and not feel up to doing much else in the evenings. I’m not excited about that, really. I have so many projects I want to do (Halloween, Christmas, baby room ideas). I’m not sure now if I’ll ever get them done. I need to make a list.

3. I’ll hopefully have more things to blog about until our baby is born. And tweet about.

4. I like feeling as if I’m contributing to our little family. I know I do by being at home and cleaning, etc. But this will bless Nick because it’s paying off debt that stresses him out. I like when he’s not stressed out.

5. I know once baby is born, I will have less contact with unbelievers (at least for the first few months), so this will be a good time to share my faith (Lord help me). I’d like to make some friends and be involved in their life. However, this is a job through my temp agency and based off of experience there, not many of my co-workers are up for conversation, nor is it encouraged to do much talking to each other during the day. (We have numbers to keep, people!) So, pray that I will find opportunities. I’m sure my protruding stomach will initiate more conversation that normal.

6. I will REALLY miss going over to my friend’s houses during the day. Friends with kids don’t have the leisure of hanging out during the dinner hour (as I will learn soon) so it was nice to be able to do that during the day.

7. I have to sit for 8 hours. Please imagine with me what that will be like for my back, whether I sit correctly or not, in the evenings. I’m actually really worried about that. It already hurts a lot now. I need some massage coupons (or gift cards!) :)

8. I HATE eating lunch at work. I don’t like picking out my lunch meal at 6am. Besides, I’m not a huge fan of “lunch” anyway.

9. I can’t gchat Nick all day anymore. haha.

10. This will occupy my time and thoughts until about 3 weeks before my due date. Maybe that means I’ll get there faster. Who knows?

Anyway, I start Monday, 7am-3:30pm until sometime beginning or mid-December. Pray for me, please :)

One Response to “Thoughts on going back to work”

  1. Sarah Lorence Johnson September 15, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    I will be praying for you, Becky. I was in your shoes not too long ago. You are right about the back pain, unfortunately. I would try to stand up and stretch my back, and walk around the office once every hour or so, and that seemed to help a little bit. Working at least helped with the waiting and made the pregnancy go by a little more quickly. Hang in there! January will be here before you know it and the fun holidays will help, too. :)

Leave a Reply

