Meeting the Pioneer Woman

2 May

Yesterday I woke up late after a sleepless night. Checked Facebook. Then checked Twitter. Doubly checked Twitter again. The Pioneer Woman was gonna be at the MOA at 1pm? It was already 11:30am! I texted my friend Katie and we both decided it was of utmost importance to go the Mall of America and meet this woman.

I had no interest in cooking before I found her blog. And now I’ve made several dishes of hers and even own the cookbook she wrote! Her blog is witty and fun to read. Her pictures are great AND she gives away a lot of stuff. I have yet to win anything, but believe me, when I do, you’ll know. Reading her blog has even helped me strive to be a better writer on my own blog. I guess you can say she’s kind of a role model to me.

The line was so short! She told us she forgot to mention she would be in Minneapolis. I’m guessing a ton more people would have showed up.

She was very easy to talk to. Super chilled.

I also bought her new children’s book called Charlie the Ranch Dog. So cute!

Afterward, Katie and I went to Johnny Rockets to eat lunch. We were starving. It was a fun, spontaneous outing! I’m so glad we went. And I’m so glad I’m on Twitter so I can find out these kind of things! I mean where else do you hear the news?

5 Responses to “Meeting the Pioneer Woman”

  1. Kristin May 2, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    Lucky duck!! How cool. She was the one who finally helped me understand what aperture is in photography!

  2. Jen Griffin May 2, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    Love!! I love the cool pictures too!! I adore her blog and I’ve also learned to cook more from her awesome blogs. Her monkey break and dinner rolls are two of my favorites! So cool that you got to meet her. I hear she is going to have her own cooking show on Food Network! Wish I had cable…:(

  3. Pam May 2, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    Oh, Becky! This was so neat! I adore her blog, too. You just can’t beat her Marlboro Man Sandwiches! Thanks for sharing.

  4. Connie May 2, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    I love PW! I’m so jealous you and your friend got to meet her!

  5. jenna May 2, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    and your hair looked so cute! i’m impressed! glad you got to meet one of your heroes! so cool!

Leave a Reply

