Concerts :: The Civil Wars

20 Apr

Back in July Nick and I went to see The Swell Season in concert at First Avenue. They were fantastic. At the end of my recap post I mentioned that we were going to see The Civil Wars that August. We never did end up going (and I’m not sure why). But we went with a ton of friends Monday night at Bryant Lake Bowl and oh my word…

Breathtaking

I think that might be the best word to describe that concert.  I’ve been to concerts and they were okay. This one was outstanding. First of all, Bryant Lake Bowl Theater was such a nice, homey place for a concert. They served food, we got to sit, and every seat was an amazing. You just couldn’t go wrong! By the time the show started I was full, relaxed, and ready to enjoy some lovely music.

Their opener was White Dress. She was good and we all enjoyed listening to her. However, I think it’s safe to say we were ALL itching for The Civil Wars to play! We were not disappointed. They were delightful to your ears and mesmerizing to watch. They had us laughing and I even came close to tears several times. Their harmony is so good!

At the end of the concert, Nick showed me a piece of paper that our friend Ashley had snagged from off the stage. It was The Civil Wars’ song set for the evening.

Why yes. Yes that is our names. Nick had contacted them and asked if they would dedicate a song to me that evening. He told them about our molar pregnancy and our failed adoption and how that would mean a lot to him (and myself!) if they could do it. Unfortunately, they both forgot or weren’t able to fit it in. We met them afterward and Joy Williams apologized for not dedicating it publicly. She told me that during the song however, she was dedicating it to me herself and to know that I was not alone in this. Not at all. Seriously, I almost cried. Kindness does that to me. It was so awesome of them. Here are the lyrics to the song they picked to dedicate to us.

C’est La Mort

Joy Williams and John Paul White

Swan dive down eleven stories high
Hold your breath until you see the light
You can sink to the bottom of the sea
Just don’t go without me

Go get lost where no one can be found
Drink so long and deep until you drown
Say your goodbyes but darling if you please
Don’t go without me

C’est la vie
C’est la mort
You and me
Forevermore

Let’s walk down the road that has no end
Steal away where only angels tread
Heaven or hell or somewhere in between
Cross your heart to take me when you leave
Don’t go, please don’t go
Don’t go without me

Ashley was way to kind and actually gave us the original piece of paper. We’ve decided to frame it and hang it in our room. Nick made my night by doing all that for me. <3

I wish we could go to another concert…and soon! I will be going to Bryant Lake Bowl for more concerts though. I loved it. Here’s one more song from the evening. Nick recorded it on his phone and it came out really well.  This is one of their most popular songs. It’s very beautiful.

Poison & Wine

Now go buy their cd! Or you can download their free album here.

4 Responses to “Concerts :: The Civil Wars”

  1. Ashley April 20, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    The set list has a better home now :) I’m glad you have it!

  2. talithapiper April 21, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    Becky, thanks for the heads up on the free album. Downloading right now!!
    so glad you had such a fun time :)

  3. Andie April 21, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    How sweet of an evening. I’m glad for you.
    It is SUPER COOL to see them singing at Eddie’s Attic. I went there quite a bit in high school.

  4. Tickets for sale April 25, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    awesome song.

Leave a Reply

