Up Close & Personal

12 Feb

WARNING: Girly post ahead. DISCLAIMER: This does not often happen.

So my friend, Crystal Bowers inspired me to write this post when I saw her do that same thing over on her blog. I thought it would be super fun! So here are some of my favorite bathroom products that I use almost every day.

#1 Mane & Tail Shampoo

Yes, it IS horse shampoo. (I can hear your laughter through screen, you guys) You have no idea how effective this stuff is! When I want my hair to grow longer, I use this stuff (as well as the conditioner). It keeps the ends of my hair healthier so they are less likely to break and split, therefore allowing my hair to grow “faster.” I get mine from Cub and it lasts a super long time. It’s also VERY CHEAP. (You’re thinking about it now, huh?)

#2 Sensitive Skin Shave Gel and #3 Nick’s Gillette Razor

I have super sensitive skin so basically anything that is for my skin type, works. However, I like this smell and the color. Heh. As for my razor, it has to be this one. I’ve tried countless times to use my own and the outcome just isn’t the same. It’s super sad when Nick goes away and takes this with him.

#4 Biolage Smoothing Gel

Someone gave this stuff to me a long time ago and I L.O.V.E it! I usually only use it on special occasions, when I want my straight hair to turn out really well. Plus, it makes my hands really soft afterward. Bonus!

#5 Fructis Spray Gel and #6 phomollient

It’s a toss-up between these two. The spray gel I have used for about 7 years or so. I love it. Until recently it was all I used. Then the lovely Katie Steller Schultz (my hairstylist and friend) introduced me to phomollient. It does to my hair what the spray gel does without making my hair feel crunchy and also gives it an amazing just-out-of-the-salon smell. So, I use the phomollient for special occasions, til I run out, then hopefully I’ll buy a bigger bottle next time.

#7 Pond’s Dry Skin Cream

I bought this right after I got married and didn’t use it hardly at all until this winter. My face has gotten some random dry patches lately so I tried this on them. It feels and smells wonderful. Also helpful to put on right before my makeup to smooth things out.

#8 bareMinerals Light Foundation and brush

My best friend, Bekah, made me use this one time and I never stopped. It is seriously the best thing that has ever happened to my face! It doesn’t make my skin greasy or break out. It also comes off very easily. There’s an art to putting it on correctly with the brush but that’s super simple to learn. The foundation lasts me for a very long time so it’s definitely worth the price. I’ve never had to replace my brush.

I used to have a favorite eyeliner but the company stopped selling it in stores and now I can’t remember the exact name of it to find it online. The eyeliner I have now is crap and I want to run over it with my car. Unfortunately it cost me $6 so I can’t do that. I’ll let you know if I do it though. It might happen accidentally or something, cuz I’m always walking around with it in my hand, you know.

 

5 Responses to “Up Close & Personal”

  1. thebowblog February 12, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    Now I’m famous! :)

  2. thatsnotfunnymisskatie February 13, 2011 at 1:16 am #

    Have you tried taking a lighter to the tip of your eyeliner? Not for setting it on fire, but sometimes that makes crappy overpriced eyeliner function more like it should.

    • Becky February 13, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

      Unfortunately my eyeliner is not a “pencil.” I wish it could be remedied that way!

  3. Bekah February 13, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

    I love this :) and I’m glad I made it into one of your posts!

  4. Amanda McAlpine February 16, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    I just recognized the counter top in the all the pictures, then I remembered- duh, you live in Marty and Jessica’s old house! We miss you on Wednesday mornings in nursery. Hope you’re doing well.

Leave a Reply

