Adoption Update :: The Referral

26 Nov

How ironic is it that several days after I post about waiting for a child, that we would get a phone call today from our adoption agency? And that they would tell us that a birth mother has picked our profile out of the many that are available? I’m positive it isn’t irony and that my God has something up His sleeve and I swear it’s going to throw me way off someday.

I could tell you about it all myself, but Nick has written a pretty good blog post with all the details already:

Today is the day Beck and I have been waiting for. We’ve been waiting for this day for over 11 months now.

It started out like most Black Friday mornings—with shopping and a full breakfast at Perkins. Things changed, however, when I got a phone call around 11AM this morning from our adoption agency. We’d been picked! What an absolutely overwhelming feeling. I felt sick to my stomach with excitement. I still kinda do—even as I write.

We don’t know much about the birth mother right now. We don’t know the gender of the baby but we do know the baby will be African-American (both parents are AA). Trent, a good friend of mine, reminded me today that “What man has intended for evil, God will use for good.” YES! What a great and timely reminder for us.

I haven’t even told you all the craziest part yet. Her due date was 1/4/11 but because of her age and how things are progressing the doctors moved the date back to late December! Yes, that’s just a month away, I know. We have so much to do.

I don’t even know what to say. I could have a baby around Christmas time? Are you serious? My heart is so guarded from these past months that I think it’s almost unable to believe this. I am with Nick about how exciting it is. But I am scared to let it sink in and be real. What if it falls through? How could I take that? We only have around 4 weeks or less until this baby is born. Could minds be changed that quickly? Oh, I pray not. It would be so hard to have to come back here and tell you all; strike that. never mind. false alarm. Please, Lord, please don’t do that to me.

Thank you all for your prayers. Please continue to pray for us:

Pray that this adoption will not fall through.

Pray that my heart will not break.

Pray that we will get the funds we need, quickly.

Pray for this baby and the mother. I can’t imagine what she is going through.

Pray that we will be good parents to this child if he/she is supposed to be ours.

I never thought this day would come. I am still reeling. Sleep is in order before I can actually process what is going on in my life. Oh, and have I mentioned we’re moving? Yeah. In one week. Guess who hasn’t started packing? Mmmhmm. Me. I think my December is a little full now. Ya think? I have no picture for this post. Feel free to provide one…I’m outta creativity for the day.

Oh my word…

 

 

9 Responses to “Adoption Update :: The Referral”

  1. Amy Marino November 27, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Wow!! :DDD
    I don’t know you well, but am so excited for you guys!!!!
    Praying!!
    Philippians 4:4-7, 19-20

  2. Julane November 27, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    OH BECKY!!!! I’m SO excited for you!!!! We’ll definitely be praying!

  3. Talitha November 27, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    What a answer to prayer! God is so good! I am so excited for you and Nick!!!

  4. Marie November 29, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    How exciting! Praying for you guys!!!

  5. Amanda November 29, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    Yay! What wonderful news for you to be thankful for on thanksgiving, eh? Plus, you are moving just in time to a more accomodating house prior to the arrival of your child, Lord Willing! How exciting:)

  6. tylerandemma December 10, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

    Hi! You don’t know me.. and I don’t know you.. BUT I wanted to say congratulations and that God’s timing is so amazing and exciting! I had been getting a bit discouraged early last year as I always imagined I would have a child before I turned 26. Starting after 26 just seemed so late! A few months after becoming pregnant I did the math (this should have dawned on me sooner.. the math isn’t at all complicated) – I am due 11 days before my 26th birthday! What timing!
    You recently wrote about desiring a baby before Christmas and that seems so incredibly possible! I’ll be praying for you. :)

    (molly piper retweeted a comment of yours, I went to your twitter, read that you live off ice cream, and HAD to click on your blog link.)

  7. sarah emery December 11, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    we don’t know each other, but my husband and i also plan to pursue adoption, and my heart is right there with you. i am anxiously and eagerly awaiting more news from you, and praying that it is wonderful news at that!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Adoption Update :: The Referral « Becky Laparra -- Topsy.com - November 26, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Nick Laparra, Becky Laparra. Becky Laparra said: Adoption Update :: The Referral #adoption http://wp.me/pvIp6-gP […]

  2. Please Join Me in Praying « Godward - December 21, 2010

    […] you could just take 5 minutes and stop and pray for this awesome couple! Their blogs are here, and here. Read their story and please pray for them! Thanks and Have a Merry […]

Leave a Reply

