The Church Laugh

24 Sep

You know what that is right? Haven’t you all gotten it? It comes at the most inconvenient time; usually when the pastor is praying, or something really important is happening. Well at our brand new Sunday Night Service, I got it during Communion. And here’s the good part…

I was serving Communion as well.

I WAS SERVING!!!!! [smacking forehead] And I wasn’t just walking up the aisle and passing it along. No, we were standing IN FRONT OF THE WHOLE CHURCH.

Nick had asked myself and my friend Allison to serve communion. I was a little hesitant because of my tendency to mess things up but I said yes. We showed up, got directions, sat through church. I was nervous. I can’t lie.

We were called up and went to our side of the church (after partaking and realizing we got the gluten-free bread. yuck). I could do this! The band was singing in the background and I was enjoying seeing my fellow church members come up and partake of communion. Then, a girl who shall not be named, dropped her bread in my juice bowl. She tried to get it out but couldn’t, so she grabbed another piece and left. After smiling and giggling at us, of course.

Ok, news flash. DON’T giggle at me during church. I can’t handle it!

I just lost it. Like, I couldn’t even breathe because I was trying to hold it in and it hurt so much! Every person that came up after that looked in my juice bowl and LAUGHED. I kept sneaking glances over at Allison, who in turn would puff out her cheeks so not to laugh and look away from me. This was going on for too long and I was in some serious agony. There was a lull in the line of people, so, I looked to my left and my right (I don’t know why, ok?) and I ate the piece of bread from my bowl.

I ATE IT!

Isn’t that like sacrilegious or something? Was I now extra spiritual for taking communion twice? I’m pretty sure this is where Allison really lost it. I kept trying to think of serious things, like my cat dying and such, to get my mind off of what I had just done. But then, it would find its way back in my head and my face would grow red-hot and I had to take deep breaths. I just needed to get all this laughter out! I hadn’t heard any of the music, I’m pretty sure everyone on our side of the church was staring at me, and I’m positive God was laughing at my stupidity. Fortunately communion doesn’t last forever and we walked out the back doors of the sanctuary. And then I let it all out.

I am not allowed to do communion ever again. You just shouldn’t trust me to do a serious job seriously.

7 Responses to “The Church Laugh”

  1. Nick September 24, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

    Funny-ness. You’re a dork. A cute dork but a dork nonetheless.

  2. Barb Waldemar September 24, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    You are a funny one. I can totally see this happening. Made me laugh.

  3. Katie September 24, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    That just made me laugh really hard!

  4. jeanea September 24, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    Becky, its things like this that make me love you. Bless your heart. I know God has a sense of humor and yes, I feel certain that He chuckles at you now and then. Lol

  5. Mom September 25, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

    you’re too cute…

  6. lovingmylifeaslindsey March 3, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    I just popped on your blog to read your adoption journaling update and saw this. I laughed my guts out :) Communion is the worst for the church laugh. That happened to my best friend and I (luckily we weren’t serving it!). But I tried to swallow the piece of bread whole because I hate how it got stuck in my teeth…needless to say I started choking on it :) Oops!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The Church Laugh « Becky Laparra -- Topsy.com - September 25, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Becky Laparra and Becky Laparra, Becky Laparra. Becky Laparra said: The Church Laugh: http://wp.me/pvIp6-eJ […]

Leave a Reply

