Concerts :: The Swell Season

29 Jul

I love date nights. And when my husband includes a thoughtful surprise in our date night, I love it even more! He bought the tickets and didn’t tell me where we were going til we got there! [pause] Ok, that’s not entirely true. I discovered what the surprise was 3 days before the show. But not intentionally! It just…happened.

I was first introduced to The Swell Season by the movie Once that they starred in. It’s a great rainy Sunday afternoon movie. Their music is out of this world. I’m not kidding. I was so very excited to go see them.

We got there around 6:30pm and waited in line for the doors to open at 7pm. How we got a front row spot, I have no idea, since there were a bazillion people in front of us in line. Ok, not really, but it felt like it.

Nick looks extremely excited in this picture but really his ADD and/or selective hearing was kicking in high gear with all the people and  food smells around us. paha.

So the show started at 8pm and I thought The Swell Season was coming out first, but since I haven’t been to a concert in like 6 years and I’m outta touch with the music world, I was highly disappointed when some dude came out with a guitar and a harmonica holder around his neck to sing a few ditties. While I think Nick thought he was the coolest thing since sliced bread (I judge this by the amount of swaying and humming he did), I wasn’t a huge fan. But cool for him that he got to open for The Swell Season.

Finally at around 9:15pm they came out. It was amazing. We were right next to the speakers, so we heard everything really well and obviously could see everything on stage.  The drummer was super awesome. I think he looked like a mixture of an Amish guy and a Jew.

Eh? (wait that’s Canadian…drat!) nevermind

I wear glasses. Yes, I do.

Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova are awesome musicians. In Nick’s words, “That was the best concert I have ever been to.” I have to agree. Glen just rocks it out on stage in a way that took my breath away. I’m passionate about music and when I see someone else doing what I L.O.V.E. to do, and in the most moving way, it gives me chills.

And so, the concert ended after 11pm. For those of you paying attention, that means we were on our feet in a crowded mass of sweaty people for almost 5 hours. Gross. Yuck. I was glad to get out of that throng. (And if I were honest I would tell you that I complained to Nick about my feet hurting only every 10 minutes. But I don’t want to be honest. I didn’t complain the whole night.)

It was a really fun date. Probably outshining a lot of our dates recently (which consists of coffee shops and books. Wait, that sounds like a blast. Who am I kidding?) It was a different kind of date and we needed that. Here are a few videos of the concert. Sorry the recording isn’t that great. When you’re right next to the speakers you get lots of feedback. Boo.


Falling Slowly

Say it to Me Now

When Your Mind’s Made Up

I think Nick and I are going to try to go to more concerts. In August we’re going to see  The Civil Wars and that should be fun. But the Swell Season is better. Jus sayin’.

5 Responses to “Concerts :: The Swell Season”

  1. crystal July 29, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

    I loove the Civil Wars! I’ve never heard of these swell people..

  2. Jeanea July 30, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    Aww Becky you guys look great. . . have you lost weight? Anyways, that’s not the point. Point is, I’m glad you had a good time and kudos to Nicholas for pulling the surprise card. I try to do that all the time but I always get found out…mostly because it’s other peoples’ fault but oh well. :) I think we’re going to actually have a date night tonight for the first time in a loooong time so I hope we have as good a time as you two seemingly did. ( I don’t see why we shouldn’t-my feet won’t hurt and I won’t have to deal with sweaty strangers for 5 hours. lol )
    love you guys!
    J*Nea

  3. Jeanea July 30, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    PS
    You look uber cute in your glasses. :) I’ve always thought so. ;)
    xoxoxo
    JP

  4. Monica August 2, 2010 at 11:54 am #

    Sounds like you guys had an awesome time! I have seen that movie!! LOVE THEIR MUSIC!! Didn’t realize that was the name of their band! Anyways yay for “surprise” dates :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Concerts :: The Civil Wars « Becky Laparra - April 20, 2011

    […] in July Nick and I went to see The Swell Season in concert at First Avenue. They were fantastic. At the end of my recap post I mentioned that we […]

Leave a Reply

