Our Home Study is Finalized!

10 Jul

Nick and I have known all week that our home study was almost finished but we wanted to keep our little secret to ourselves until it was finalized. I thought they would be emailing us to tell us that it was done and that they’d send it soon, so as Jenny dropped me off from going with her to Ikea, I saw this in the mailbox and almost fell over. I rushed inside and threw down my purse and just freaked out to Nick. I ripped it open (my hands were clammy and shaking so it took all my best efforts to not drop the package), and there it was in all it’s glory.

*Hallelujah!*

I was trying not to cry, and then I hugged Nick. I just couldn’t take it. All the waiting and the anxiety had been killing me for the past 4 months. Now, I know, I know that this is only the 1st step in the process, so please don’t kill my joy by “reminding” me that we have several steps ahead of us. Believe me, I KNOW.

BUT

I WILL sob to my husband that our home study is finished,

I WILL continue to tell everyone I know that we can move onto the next step,

And I WILL go out to celebrate at Red Lobster, because they have the best biscuits ever.

Celebrate with me, mmkay? :)

*next post will be on WHAT in the WORLD is a home study and why is it SO important?? stay tuned…

5 Responses to “Our Home Study is Finalized!”

  1. Monica Geller ;) July 10, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    BECKY!! I am so happy for you guys! I want to celebrate!!!

  2. thebowblog July 10, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    AWESOME! yay!!

  3. therigneys July 10, 2010 at 9:08 pm #

    Could not be happier for you and Nick! Can’t wait to meet this sweet little boy or girl Laparra!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Red Lobster Dinner Celebration « Becky Laparra - July 15, 2010

    […] Jul When our home study was finalized I mentioned that I was going to go to Red Lobster to celebrate. I didn’t waste time in getting […]

  2. Adoption Update :: Anxiety « Becky Laparra - August 11, 2010

    […] Our home study is finished, which is a wonderful thing. We are waiting for money right now. Loans. Grants. Paperwork to process. It is so hard. Patience is a virtue but I’m afraid it isn’t one thing that I’ve learned to have yet. I wish I could say I am doing fantastic with waiting. But you don’t deserve to be lied to. […]

Leave a Reply

