Life and Music Combined

7 Jul

I love listening to music at work. Even if just to block out the people around me. I feel like I am in my own little world. I wasn’t really paying much attention until one of my all time favorite songs started playing.

Cities 97 used to play it non-stop when Nick and I first moved to Minneapolis. It felt like my theme song, my go-to song when I was sad, or still uncomfortable living in a new big city. I know all the words by heart. It soothes my soul and reminds me of the past. Because who doesn’t love good, ole’ memories?

The song is “I’m Yours” by Jason Mraz. As it started playing on my iPhone, I was whisked away to 2 years ago (has it been almost 2 years that I’ve lived here?!). I was younger, just married, happy, excited, scared, introverted and now landlocked. How was I going to make it here? Of course, I’m not saying that this song was what got me through, but it sure did play a part.

That got me thinking to other songs I associate with the “innocent” beginnings of places I have lived or events in my life I have gone through:

Sundown” by Iver reminds me of my time in PA while traveling with ERM and how I fell in love with Nicolas because of that song.

Hello” by Evanescence reminds me of living in FL, of my first boyfriend, of things that happened to me there that have forever molded me to be who I am; good and bad. It’s a sad song, but it makes me happy.

Because You Loved Me” by Celine Dion reminds me of my childhood home in Bloomsburg, PA where I made my first best friend (whom I still love to pieces).

These songs can bring me to tears in a matter of seconds if I let them. They are so full of meaning to me. I have others as well; songs that speak to my heart of life and all it means, of good times, bad times, innocent times; songs that I associate with certain people and places. It’s truly amazing, really. I’ll give you one more “for instance.”

Whenever I think of the weeks I was in Honduras with Nick’s family for Christmas ’07, I remember one day when we were driving around visiting orphanages and my sister-in-law, Elisabeth, and I were listening to music. The song “The Story” by Brandi Carlile came on and we had never heard it before. We laughed at minute 2:53 for a really long time. Now every time I hear that song, I think of Christmas and Elisabeth and of my first time ever being with Nick’s family, and I just laugh. Crazy.

Do you have any songs like that?

Leave a Reply

