My thoughts on the past 10 days

1 Apr

I think you all know that Nick and I were doing a 10 Day Detox. I’m happy to tell you that we both made it through and yesterday ended the food fast! Today is day 11 and I feel wonderful.

Many of you have asked “how could you possibly make it?!”, or “did you lose any weight?”, or “how do you feel now?” I will try to answer your questions as best as I can!

First, I could not have done it without Nick. Seriously. If I didn’t have someone keeping me accountable or listen to me whine (and be able to understand why himself), I definitely would have eaten on day 4.

I didn’t have any trouble not eating the first 3 days. Which is weird considering they say those are the hardest days.  Those were Nick’s hardest days though and I think we were able to balance each other out because of it.

The last 7 days were brutal for me. I never felt terribly hungry. It really only felt like I had missed 1 meal that day. For me, food seemed so much more enticing than it ever had. And I wanted it. I wanted it so badly!  Night time was also difficult.  We both got very tired early in the evening. My resolve would almost completely weaken at night and I would get terribly grumpy. I rarely went out and did things with people because I was afraid I’d bite their heads off. haha.  But Nick was there! He was able to handle those days much better than myself.

Thankfully, we didn’t have any food in the house. I only had to be around full meals 3 times out of the 30 meals we skipped. That made this considerably easier.

Nick lost between 15 and 20 lbs. I lost around 10-12lbs. We are super happy about that! It feels SO good to lose weight. My pants are little too big and I haven’t felt that feeling in…well, I’m not sure when.  I also feel pretty darn good in general. At times Most of time this didn’t feel worth it, but now that it’s over and I survived, I know that it was.  

I’m glad I did this. I don’t know if I’ll ever do it again, but I won’t say I never will.  I think you should try it! For the weight loss, the healthy body, and if only just to say you actually went 10 days without food!

4 Responses to “My thoughts on the past 10 days”

  1. Bryan April 1, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    Excellent! I’ve lost over 15 lbs since trying to lose weight too. It’s nice to have a smaller gut. :)

    I’ve been in a new pattern of life and health and will hopefully maintain it through the strength God provides, for His glory. Everything in moderation!

  2. Hubey (alias Hibey...alias Sarah Hubert) April 5, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    That’s awesome! I did a three day fast once and thought that was tough.

  3. jessicamelling April 5, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    Ah ha! After we left your yard last night, I started to wonder if that was a “break fast” party!

    • Becky April 6, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

      haha. nice. yeah we’ve only been eating for a couple days and my stomach is still pretty small and can’t hold much yet! it was nice to eat meat though! Glad you guys stopped by. You’re lookin so cute! :)

Leave a Reply

