Insanity Preferred

22 Mar

I have weird thoughts. I get crazy ideas. Sometimes, I’m just plain ridiculous. Today is no exception. Why? Because today starts Day 1 of a 10 day detox.

That’s right. DETOX. Me and Nick. 10 days. One lemonade recipe. No food.

Sheesh.

Right when I think I’ve got it together, my brain kicks in and is like, no noNO nono. You’re insane, remember?

I was coming home yesterday from the gym with Allison and remarking that I’m not losing weight fast enough and I always feel gross. I recalled that about 2 years ago I was considering detoxing but it wasn’t a good time to do it (wedding coming up, working 12 hr days at a camp…yeah). So when I got home, I told Nick it was time to detox, but only if he would do it with me. Of course, if you know Nick, he isn’t much saner than me and was ALL for it. (Thanks, love)

He went out to the Seward Co-op and bought all the things we would need for the next 10 days:

  • 2 Tablespoons of organic lemon Juice
  • 2 Tablespoons of Organic grade B maple syrup 
  • 1/10 Teaspoon Cayenne pepper powder
  • Ten ounces of filtered water
  • That’s for 1 serving. We both will be drinking 6-8 servings a day!

    Now I know I can do this. BUT, we had a ton of food in our house. Too much food. So, we called Drew. He’s so trusty. He came over and graciously took pretty much all of our food. Now, I don’t really have any temptations! Unless one of you guys tempts me, and that would not be nice at all.

    I’m thinkin’ this will be pretty interesting, considering I’m cleaning out my body (go read up on this…its insane), and hopefully losing some fast weight. Plus, I’ll still go to the gym around 3 times a week, just not go crazy and push myself too far. The first 3 days are the hardest. Once you get past them, your body is like “eh, who needs food?” If I can get to there, I’ll be good to go.

    I’m so ready for this. Ready, Nick? Oh, he is.

    7 Responses to “Insanity Preferred”

    1. Allison March 22, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

      I will help hold you accountable! I know you can do it! I have faith that you both will do awesome! :)

    2. Chase March 22, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

      Ah! This was a perfect post for me to read.
      Apparently, I’m not too sane either.
      I’m looking to do a detox. I was thinking water/juice, but might just go out and buy the stuff for this one today :)

      Hang in there!

      • Becky March 23, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

        Do it Chase! It hasn’t been that hard yet. I’m sure I’ll get to my hump though. We also have to take some sort of laxative in the morning and evening. Whether its an herbal laxative tea or 32 oz of water mixed with un-iodized salt, and just chugging it. yuck. But it gets everything out. lol. Let me know if you try it!

    3. Scott March 22, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

      I was wondering why Drew got all that food from you guys. Let us know how it goes!

    4. Nathan Barnhart March 29, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

      Hi Becky,

      It’s your cousin Nathan here. It sounds like you’ve taken on quite a challenge with your cleansing fast. I hope it goes well.

      If you are interested in additional ways of improving your diet and ensuring your good health have a look at this website: http://drmcdougall.com/
      I’ve been eating a plant-based diet for the last year and a half, and I love it. It makes SO much sense!

      All the best!
      Nathan

    Trackbacks/Pingbacks

    1. My thoughts on the past 10 days « Night Psalms - April 1, 2010

      […] 8:18 pm } · { Health, Nicolas, Personal } I think you all know that Nick and I were doing a 10 Day Detox. I’m happy to tell you that we both made it through and yesterday ended the food fast! Today […]

    2. Lil’ Miss Homemaker (Sorta) « Becky Laparra - September 18, 2010

      […] since we’ve established before that I am not right in the head, I got this crazy idea last night after reading one of her posts and then seeing chocolate in my […]

    Leave a Reply

