Adoption is close to my heart

5 Mar

So I’m sure it’s been circulating around that Nick and I are considering adoption, and while we haven’t been hiding the fact, we haven’t exactly made it public either! But it IS true. Nick and I sent out our home study today actually, and so the process begins!

Nick and I are so excited about what God has for us concerning adoption. We have always wanted to adopt. Both of us were thinking about it even before we knew each other! And in light of my molar pregnancy, this just seemed like the perfect thing to do first.

Many of you know that adoptions are expensive, and ours is no exception! So I am asking you for your prayers. We covet them so much right now! I tend to get really panicky and un-trusting when it comes to large sums of money that we have to spend. I know God will provide– He loves to care for His orphans! I don’t want to stop trusting Him just because something is beyond my comprehension and understanding. Thank you!

I will be sure to update whenever Nick and I know anything. As of right now, we wait! Ah, patience. I lack here too, unfortunately. This will be a sanctifying time in my life. As if being married isn’t enough! But it will be so worth it when I am holding a child in my arms that I can call my own. A child that myself and Nick will be able to rescue from being an orphan and care for them in a loving, God-fearing home. Soon…

5 Responses to “Adoption is close to my heart”

  1. Shannarie March 5, 2010 at 3:40 am #

    I’ll be praying for you and nick. :)
    I admire your faith during this hard time. You two will make awesome parents one day :D

  2. Sarah March 5, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    Woohoo! I can’t wait to see what God has in store for you guys, either! I’m going to need patience. :)

    So looking forward to lots of snuggle time with your little gift.

  3. Becky March 8, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    Thanks you guys!

  4. marie April 1, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    That’s so great you’re adopting! We’re looking forward to doing that sometime soon :-) Have you ever look into fost/adopt programs? I’m not sure how they work in MN but you are basically adopting kids out of foster care and the state pays for EVERYTHING. They even give you a living stipend for the child and dental and health coverage until age 18. That’s here in California, but it seems like there would be something similar in MN. It makes it affordable (er, free) to adopt and you are really meeting the needs of unwanted children. Gives me goosebumps just typing about it :-) Anyways, I’ll be praying for you guys! So exciting!!!

    • Becky April 6, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

      Yeah we know about that as well. Do you know Nathan and Maria Miller? They are taking the foster-to-adopt route. We just felt led to adopt only. And I am young so age has made it difficult to find a place where we can adopt. But it’ll all be worth it! Thanks for your prayers, Marie!

Leave a Reply

